The DPP was established by the Director of Public Prosecutions Act 1990 and commenced operation on 1 July 1991.

Previously the prosecuting service in the Territory had been run by the Commonwealth Deputy Crown Solicitor’s Office and then by the Commonwealth DPP.

The use of Police Prosecutors had been abolished in all matters before the ACT Court of Petty Sessions (as it was then) in the late 1970’s, and since that time legally qualified prosecutors have appeared in both summary and superior courts in the ACT. Even now such a situation does not exist in any other Australian jurisdiction.

The current Director, Jon White, was appointed for a seven year term commencing on 15 September 2008.

He is the fourth Director, the others being Ken Crispin QC, Terry Buddin SC and Richard Refshauge SC.